Hello Harmony / Iron County Families,

Summer is here along with all its fun adventures! In this touchpoint are some things to help keep your kids learning over the summer, as well as a few important items to note that will help you prepare for the next school year.

In this Touchpoint:

  • Calendars 
  • Monthly Trivia for Students
  • Summer Field Trips
  • Summer Reading Programs
  • Distance-Ed Letter
  • Re-enrollment 2024-25
  • Resource Ordering
  • Reimbursement
  • Options Day
  • Get Social

Calendars
Stay up to date on important dates and events with our calendar found on the parent dashboard. Here you’ll find information such as Flex submission dates, testing dates, school dates,  etc. 

Click here for the official Iron County School District calendar for the 2024-25 school year.

Upcoming School Dates:
Aug 14: First day of school
Sept 2: Labor Day (No School)
Oct 11: End of 1st quarter
Oct 14: Beginning of 2nd quarter
Oct 18-21: Fall Break (No School)

Monthly Trivia for Students
Answers are at the bottom of the touchpoint email.

Question #1: How many hot dogs do Americans consume between May and September?
Question #2: What is the most common butterfly in the United States?
Question #3: What is America’s most popular ice cream flavor? (a) Vanilla (b) Chocolate (c) Strawberry.

Summer Field Trips
Field trips are great to keep learning during the summer!  We’ve included a list below of many possible places to go, but take a look around and you may find many other opportunities. You can also be reimbursed or place a resource order for the cost of admission or passes.

Utah Field Trip Ideas

Summer Reading Programs
Below are some great programs to encourage reading and get prizes.

Read and Win At The Utah State Fair
Camp BOOK IT!
Barnes and Noble Reading Program

Distance-Ed Letter
Because students enrolled in Iron County District, which partners with Harmony, are public school students, the home school affidavit/ intent to homeschool form should not be submitted to your local school district. We know that the letter is used for discounts at many places and we have worked with the school to create a distance-ed letter for students. We can’t guarantee that it will work everywhere, but many families have found it beneficial for various places.

To get your distance-ed letter, email your mentor and we will send a customized letter for each of your Harmony students.

Re-enrollment 2024-25
Don’t forget to re-enroll! Once your students are set, you can select courses and submit resource orders. If you have a new student or know of friends who may want to enroll with  Harmony, here is a link:  harmonyed.com/parent-account/.

Resource Orders
Resource ordering is now open. You can place one resource request per student between now and Oct 31st. Resource orders will start being processed on July 1st and placed within 10 business days.

Reimbursement
We are excited to announce starting in the 24/25 school year we will start accepting receipts dated May 1, 2024 to May 31, 2025. You can submit one request a month with as many receipts in each request.

Options Day
Options Day is our onsite program where we offer elective classes that will fulfill the K-8 elective requirements. Students meet once a week and enjoy four different classes and social time with friends. Register for Options Day under “Course Registration”.
We are excited to offer our Options Day program again in the following areas:

  • Cedar City on Tuesdays @ 10:00 a.m
  • Central Utah County (American Fork) on Mondays or Thursdays @ 9:30 a.m.
  • Logan on Tuesdays or Thursdays @ 10:00 a.m.
  • Morgan on Thursdays @ 10:00 a.m
  • Roy on Tuesdays @ 10:00 a.m

Get Social
Are you part of our growing community of Harmony parents? If not, please join us and get social!  It’s a great place to share what is working with your family, ask questions of other parents, and receive updates on Harmony activities. 

Have a warm and exciting June!

Brianna Webster, Iron Account Manager (bwebster@harmonyed.com)
Denise Glines, Paraeducator (dglines@harmonyed.com)
Amanda Hernandez, Mentor (ahernandez@harmonyed.com)
Gwen Adams, Mentor (gadams@harmonyed.com)
Hannah Keller, Mentor (hkeller@harmonyed.com)
Melanie Ornelas, Mentor (mornelas@harmonyed.com)
Tammy Henderson, Mentor (thenderson@harmonyed.com)
Ranya Williams, High School Mentor (highschool@harmonyed.com)
Stacey Snow, Mentor (ssnow@harmonyed.com)

Trivia Answers
#1:Seven billion
#2 Cabbage White
#3: (b) Chocolate